skip navigation

RECAP: Phoenix Rising FC Slips Past Sounders FC 2, 1-0

By Phoenix Rising FC Communications, 09/20/17, 9:45PM MST


(September 20, 2017) — Phoenix Rising FC extended its club-record unbeaten streak following a 1-0 win over Seattle Sounders FC 2. The club how now gone unbeaten in nine consecutive matches. Rising FC also matched a club record with its third consecutive win.

Both teams had great opportunities to open the match’s scoring in the first half. Rising FC midfielder Amadou Dia had the match’s first chance on target in the fifth minute. Dia smashed a shot off a short bounce, but was denied by the diving goalkeeper. 

In the 34th minute, Sounders FC 2 (9-16-4) had a free kick just outside of the box. Seattle’s Zach Mathers hit a rocket destined for the back of the net, but goalkeeper Josh Cohen made a fingertip save to deflected the ball off the crossbar.

But Phoenix Rising (12-7-7) snuck into halftime with a lead thanks to midfielder Alessandro Riggi. Following a Cohen goal kick, forward Chris Cortez headed the ball behind him, toward the box and Riggi. While on the right side of the box, Riggi unleashed a shot off a volley to beat the goalkeeper and give the club a 1-0 lead.

The win puts Rising FC in fifth place with 43 points. The top eight teams in the conference qualify for the playoffs. Phoenix Rising continues its road trip this Sunday, September 24, at Whitecaps FC 2. The match will kickoff at 3 p.m.


Scoring Summary:
PHX: 44’, 17-Alessandro Riggi (7-Chris Cortez)

Disciplinary Summary:
PHX: 33’, 25-Victor Vasquez (yellow)
SEA: 42’, 21-Jordy Delem (yellow)
PHX: 60’, 25-Victor Vasquez (yellow)
SEA: 64’, 21-Jordy Delem (red)
PHX: 75’, 14-Jason Johnson (yellow)
SEA: 84’, 36-Denso Ulysse (yellow)

PRFC Starting XI: 18-Josh Cohen; 25-Victor Vasquez (62’,14-Jason Johnson), 33-Jordan Stewart, 2-Doueugui Mala, 3-Kody Wakasa; 27-Kevon Lambert, 16-Sam Hamilton, 19-Amadou Dia, 28-Gladson Awako (81’, 24-A.J. Gray); 17-Alessandro Riggi; 7-Chris Cortez (75’, 8-Matt Watson)

Substitutions Not Used: 15-John Berner, 4-Blair Gavin, 15-Jordan Gibbons, 30-Eric Avila