skip navigation

RECAP: Phoenix Rising FC Matches Club Record Six-Match Unbeaten Streak in Draw

By Phoenix Rising FC Communications, 09/06/17, 10:15PM MST


Forward Gladson Awako made his club debut in Phoenix Rising FC's 0-0 draw with Orange County SC. (Michael Rincon/

PHOENIX (September 6, 2017) — Phoenix Rising FC extended their unbeaten streak to six matches, but couldn’t find a winning goal in a 0-0 draw with Orange County SC on Wednesday night at the Phoenix Rising Soccer Complex. The unbeaten streak matches a club record set earlier this season.

Phoenix Rising’s best chance to clinch a third straight win came in the 89th minute. Forward Gladson Awako, in his club debut, drove past his defender and directed an AJ Gray cross that smacked the near right post.

 The ball kicked out into the middle of the box and to the feet of forward Jason Johnson, who stuck out his left foot and redirected the rebound toward the target. But his shot bounced off the left post and away from danger.

A scoreless first half was highlighted by a couple of Johnson opportunities. His first chance was the first real chance of the match, but his shot rolled wide right. Then in the 24th minute, Kody Wakasa found Johnson with a cross into the box, but his header also went wide.

Phoenix Rising FC will have a chance to set new club-record unbeaten streak this Saturday at Colorado Springs in a showdown with Switchbacks FC. That match will kickoff at 5:00 p.m. Fans can head to the club’s official watch party at the Thirsty Lion in Tempe Marketplace.

Match: Phoenix Rising FC vs. Orange County SC
Date: September 6, 2017
Location: Phoenix, AZ | Scottsdale, AZ


Scoring Summary:

Disciplinary Summary:
OC: 63’-Richard Chaplow (yellow)

PRFC Starting XI: 18-Josh Cohen; 25-Victor Vasquez, 5-Peter Ramage, 33-Jordan Stewart, 3-Kody Wakasa; 27-Kevon Lambert (85’, 16-Sam Hamilton), 8-Matt Watson, 14-Jason Johnson, 29-Shaun Wright-Phillips (85’, 24-AJ Gray), 17-Alessandro Riggi; 7-Chris Cortez (61’, 28-Gladson Awako)

Substitutions Not Used: 55-Nolan Wirth, 2-Doueugui Mala, 4-Blair Gavin, 19-Amadou Dia