skip navigation

Phoenix Rising Falls To Real Monarchs 2-1

By Phoenix Rising Communications, 10/12/19, 10:15PM MST


PHOENIX (October 12th, 2019) — Phoenix Rising fell to Western Conference foe Real Monarchs 2-1 in front of a sellout crowd of 6,863. It was the club's 19th consecutive sellout at Casino Arizona Field. 


  • Phoenix Rising extended its Casino Arizona sellout streak to 19 matches.
  • Forward Ben Spencer scored his third goal in two matches.

Following a scoreless first half, Real Monarchs broke through for the first tally of the match off a Maikel Chang penalty in the 74th minute.

Rising FC equalized in the 82nd minute. Defender Mustapha Dumbuya took the ball from just past the half field line and dribbled down the center of the pitch before fading to hir right to get away from his defender. He sent a curling cross into the box as he fell away and found Adam Jahn, who headed the ball back toward the far left post. Forward Ben Spencer was there to head the ball into the back of the net.

Just before the end of regulation, both clubs went down a man when Rising FC’s Corey Whelan and Real Monarchs’ Konrad Plewa each received red cards. The Monarchs put the match away in the third minute of stoppage time. Kyle Coffee took advantage of a Phoenix Rising defensive miscue in the box and scored the game winner.

Phoenix Rising finishes the 2019 regular season next Friday, October 18th, against OKC Energy FC. It will be the final regular-season $1 Beer Night of 2019 and the first 2,500 fans who arrive will receive black and copper Phoenix Rising socks courtesy of Arizona Federal. Gates open at 6:00 p.m. and fans can purchase tickets at


Scoring Summary:
SLC: 74’, 44-Maikel Chang (penalty)
PHX: 82’, 22-Ben Spencer (9-Adam Jahn)
SLC: 90+3’, 57-Kyle Coffee

Disciplinary Summary:
SLC: 31’, 63-Steve Jasso (caution)
PHX: 41’, 41-James Musa (caution)
PHX: 73’, 20-Solomon Asante (caution)
PHX: 86’, 13-Amadou Dia (caution)
SLC: 89’, 56-Konrad Plewa (ejection)
PHX: 89’, 4-Corey Whelan (ejection)

Starting XI: 28-Zac Lubin; 13-Amadou Dia, 3-A.J. Cochran (81’, 22-Ben Spencer), 8-Corey Whelan, 24-Mustahpah Dumbuya; 41-James Musa, 19-Jose Aguinaga (90’, 15-Joey Farrell), 10-Jon Bakero (71’, 14-Jason Johnson); 21-Joey Calistri, 9-Adam Jahn, 20-Solomon Asante

Subs not used: 1-Carl Woszczynski, 2-Doueugui Mala, 16-Austin Ledbetter, 32-Kyle Bjornethun

28-Zac Lubin, 3-A.J. Cochran, 8-Corey Whelan, 41-James Musa