skip navigation

Phoenix Rising Breaks League Record For Consecutive Wins Following 1-0 Shutout Over Tulsa

By Phoenix Rising Communications, 07/27/19, 8:00PM MST


PHOENIX (July 27th, 2019) —.Phoenix Rising FC set a USL Championship record for most consecutive wins following a 1-0 shutout of Tusla Roughnecks FC. The team’s 11th-straight win sets a new league record set previously by FC Cincinnati in 2018. 


  • Phoenix Rising breaks the league record for consecutive wins (11).
  • Goalkeeper Zac Lubin earns his 11th clean sheet of the season, leading USL Championship.

Neither team created many serious chances throughout the match. The best opportunity for the Roughnecks came in the 11th minute when Fredlin Mompremier got free from the defense and came barrelling in on goalkeeper Zac Lubin. But Lubin made a kick save to keep the match scoreless.

Phoenix Rising’s chances weren’t much better until the 68th minute when Solomon Asante ripped a shot from the top of the box just to be denied by the Tulsa goalkeeper punching the ball over the crossbar. Despite the denial, Rising FC took advantage on the subsequent corner.

Asante’s corner was headed up into the air and toward the far post. Adam Jahn lept over his defender to head the ball back into the middle of the box where he found Kevon Lambert, who headed the ball into the right upper 90 of the net for the game-winner.

In addition to his 11th straight win, Lubin also earned his 11th clean sheet of the season, extending his league lead in that category. He also leads the league in goals against average.

Phoenix Rising finishes its two-match road trip next Saturday, August 3, when the team takes on La Galaxy II. That match is scheduled to kickoff at 7:00 P.M.


Scoring Summary:
PHX: 69’, 27-Kevon Lambert (9-Adam Jahn)

Disciplinary Summary:
PHX: 17’, 24-Mustapha Dumbuya (caution)
PHX: 34’, 41-James Musa (caution)
PHX: 41’, 15-Joey Farrell (caution)
PHX: 44’, 19-Jose Aguinaga (caution)
TUL: 45’, 17-Fredlin Mompremier (ejection)
TUL: 59’, 11-Christian Altamirano (caution)
TUL: 67’, 16-Rodrigo de Costa (caution)
TUL: 86’, 15-Mallan Roberts (caution)
TUL: 87’, 14-Akwafei Ajeakwa (caution)

Starting XI: 28-Zac Lubin; 13-Amadou Dia, 2-Doueugui Mala, 15-Joey Farrell, 24-Mustapha Dumbuya; 19-Jose Aguinaga (62’, 27-Kevon Lambert), 41-James Musa, 10-Jon Bakero (62’, 21-Joey Calistri); 7-Junior Flemmings, 9-Adam Jahn, 20-Solomon Asante 

Subs not used: 1-Carl Woszczynski, 3-A.J. Cochran, 16-Austin Ledbetter, 22-Ben Spencer, 32-Bjornethun